8 Books You’ll Love If You Like These Movies

stack of books

Just a few days ago my family sat down to watch Knives Out, a new movie that got rave reviews from multiple friends. First let me say that the mystery-thriller was really good! Well written, well cast, and cinematically compelling. But the first thought that popped into my head was “this is just like The Crooked House!” And it’s true, Agatha Christie was no doubt the inspiration for this flick. So it got me thinking, what other movies echo amazing books?

Well, it’s your lucky day because I made a list.

1. Knives Out & The Crooked House

As mentioned above, these two are book-movie cousins. If you enjoyed The Crooked House (or really any Agatha Christie) you’ll definitely love Knives Out and appreciate the unique twists and turns that make the movie a creature of its own.

2. Bohemian Rhapsody & The Stranger

I’m positive I mentioned in my previous post how alike these two are. In this case I’m talking about the Bohemian Rhapsody movie featuring the ever-lovable Rami Malek (and the kid from Jurassic Park). But seriously, these two are so strangely related, it’s uncanny.

3. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society & To Capture What We Cannot Keep

Two of the longest titles in the world (and yes, I realize that Guernsey is first and foremost a book), but if you love the one, you’ll adore the other. Lately, I’ve gotten into historical fiction as a book genre, which makes total sense seeing as I’ve been addicted to historical fiction movies and shows, specifically those based on classic novels, ever since I can remember.

Have I seen most adaptations of Jane Eyre? Yes. Did I watch the War & Peace miniseries three times? Absolutely.

But even if you aren’t totally into historical fiction or classic novels, To Capture What We Cannot Keep is genuinely enjoyable and magical.

4. Coco & The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

Mitch Albom books have been a part of my life since childhood, mostly because he’s one of my mom’s favorite authors and she owns a decent number of his books. So when we purchased The Magic Strings it was passed between my mom, my sister, and me and we all had only good things to say. Disney’s Coco makes us cry every time, and while Magic Strings may not make us cry, they are both beautiful, music-based stories.

5. The End of the F***ing World & Ketchup Clouds

Netflix has really hit its stride with shows and movies, and The End of the F***cking World is definitely one of their best shows to date. I’ve watched it through at least three times and it just gets more amazing. Ketchup Clouds has the same general feel and tone, making the two show-book besties.

6. True Grit & The Sisters Brothers

I’ve never been big on westerns, mostly because they often follow very similar story lines and have very stereotypical characters. However, I love True Grit and would recommend The Sisters Brothers to anyone looking for dry wit and a different take on the hired-guns trope.

7. Band of Brothers & One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich

Though the two don’t match up historically, they are both honest and real examinations of the events of the time. Both also offer a bit of perspective and I often think about/read/watch them when I need to re-center and realize that things aren’t so bad. That there are people who have suffered worse.

8. You & The Collector

Once again, Netflix comes through with a great series. Obsession and a psychological-thriller aspect that keeps you hooked are two main things shared by these two. It’s also hard not to see the similarities between the main characters of each, including the weird moments of pity or sympathy you feel towards them despite everything they’ve done or plan to do.

Happy Reading and Watching!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *